Rain Fall.

She once told me she wanted to be a raindrop,

So she would never fall alone

After hearing those words I worked to become Icarus

Climbing to the heavens only to tumble to the earth

The gray skies spoke of thunder

Lightning lasered across the horizon

Helping to illuminate the path to you

Maybe our precipitation can’t be predicted

Centuries of water sprites caught in gravity’s grasp

Searching for a landing strip to crash land on

Meteorological reports may be pure myth

But every fiction has honest diction

The rain washes over the ground

Grossly covering

Flooding

Seeping into every nook and cranny only to clear it empty

Leaving nothing behind

My dear do not dream to be just like the rest

Dashing through heaven only to find hell shortly after for

the rain falls too fast to feel anything.

She told me she wanted to be a rain drop

So she wouldn’t be afraid to fall alone

My wish is that she will descend with a white slowness

Because the world is hard and soulless

And I’d prefer to cushion her arrival

For

The snow ferments in the sky

Aging,

Patiently waiting for the opportune moment to break free from the wisps

By God, that day has come

I shall await thee

Ready to cradle you in my mittens

I admit, I was nervous at first

For too much warmth can melt

But I am careful to be careless

Even snowflakes can make a desert seem delicious

I ask that you

Cover my earth with your crystals

Blanket my naked body with your pale skin

You no longer need to be a

raindrop,

My dear you are a speck of snow,

The first sign of winter.
~J.Varina
Leave a Reply

