Witnesses

I watched a star fall from the ivory moon.

A lone streak connected the crater to my sullen cheek,

Tasting of dried tears,

with the shadow of winter cast upon my face.

 

“Are you up there yet?”

“Tell me, what is it like among the ancients?”

 

Here, on earth, it’s quiet. The abandoned homes still creak, the stream continues to fall through littered gutters, the snow still melts upon the bank,

And yet, only I am left to witness

These normal acts of nature

While you sit in God’s congregation hall.

 

My life without you has become a cruel painting,

hues and emotions are smelted together to create an internal impression; but,

as the vibrant canvas breaths,

I am suffocated by the lack of color in my own chaos.

Leave a Reply

